bruce “loose” calderwood

• -

bruce “loose” calderwood

That’ll be coming out some time in the next couple of months.He got back to me and by coincidence, he said to me, “Well, we’re planning to go into our studio to work on a new album.” And they were planning on recording a couple of Flipper songs. So I thought, “Oh wow, maybe he’s thinking about music again.” I didn’t reach out to him, but I had it back in my head that if maybe we pull it together someday he’d be into it. As a drummer, I was really into the heavy rock beats you’d hear with Led Zeppelin. Bruce Calderwood. I’m very humbled by it.

Profile: American musician.
There could be more on the way, as DePace has been working on a publishing deal in the hopes of re-issuing their catalog as well as releasing “Kali,” an album of material left over from the “Gone Fishin’” sessions in 1985.Yow doesn’t plan to stick with the band after these 40th-anniversary shows, but is happy to help Flipper transition to its new chapter.The last four decades haven’t been easy for Flipper. So I was never influenced by folk or jazz at an early age. Maybe even younger, like 12. That word sort of sounds right [laughs].The Melvins definitely say we were a gigantic influence on them, and they turned Nirvana onto Flipper.